Sydney Architects

A
Ancher Mortlock & Woolley. www.amwarchitects.com.au
Architectus Sydney. www.architectus.com.au
Angelo Candalepas and Associates. www.candalepas.com.au
Aspect Studio landscape architects. www.aspect.net.au
Allan, Jack and Cottierwww.architectsajc.com
AVL (vaughn lane). www.vaughn.com.au
Alec Tzannes www.tzannes.com.au
Architects Johannsen and Associates. www.aja.com.au
John Andrews

B
Big Draw
BKK Architects. www.b-k-k.com.au
Brewster Hjorth Architects. www.brewsterhjorth.com.au
baker kavanagh. www.bka.com.au
bates smart. www.batessmart.com.au
bligh voller nield. www.bvn.com.au
burley katon halliday. www.bkh.com.au
The Buchan Group. www.buchan.com.au

C
Carter Williamson www.carterwilliamson.com
CC-Ark www.cc-ark.com 
Choi Ropiha www.choiropiha.com
Collins and Turner Architects www.collinsandturner.com
Conybeare Morrison International www.cmplus.com.au
Crawford Architects www.crawfordarch.com
Crone Partners Architecture Studios  www.cronepartners.com
Cameron Chisholm & Nicol Pty. Ltd. www.ccnarchitects.biz
Cox Richardson www.cox.com.au
cullen feng www.cullenfeng.com.au
chris johnson gov.architect@commerce.nsw.gov.au
Chenchow Little Architects http://www.chenchowlittle.com/

D
Daryl Jackson Robin Dyke www.djrd.com.au
Denton Corker Marshall www.dentoncorkermarshall.com
Dimension 5 Design Architecture www.d5d.com.au
DnA Architects www.dna-architects.com.au
DEM www.dem.com.au
designinc www.designinc.com.au
dickson rothschild www.dicksonrothschild.com.au
Durbach Block Jaggers www.durbachblockjaggers.com

E
Eeles Trelease www.eelestrelease.com
Fender Katsalidis Mirams Architects www.fkmarchitects.com
ian moore www.ianmoorearchitects.com

F
Fitzpatrick+Partners www.fitzpatrickpartners.com
Francis-Jones Morehen Thorp (FJMT) www.fjmt.com.au

G
Ghd www.ghd.com
Gordon+Valich Architects www.gordonvalich.com.au
Grimshaw Architects www.grimshaw-architects.com
Group GSA www.groupgsa.com
JAHN Associates www.jaastudio.com.au

H
Harry Seidler & Associates www.seidler.net.au
Hassell Ltd www.hassell.com.au
HBO + EMTB (Hoadley Budge Olphert & Edwards Madigan Torzillo Briggs) www.hboemtb.com
hames sharley http://www.hamessharley.com.au/
Hill Thalis Architecture www.hillthalis.com.au

I
Ignite Architects (with Alsop) www.sharearchitecture.co.nz
innovarchi www.innovarchi.com

J
Jay Sunnam Architect www.jaysunnam.com
J.D Design Functions www.jddf.com.au
Johnson Pilton Walker www.jpw.com.au
JWA www.johnwardle.com

K
kann finch group www.kannfinch.com.au
Krikis Tayler Architects www.krikistayler.com.au

L
Lara Calder Architect www.laracalderarchitect.com.au
Lfa (Pacific) www.lfa.com.au
Louise Nettleton Architects www.nettletonarchitect.com
lacoste and stevenson www.lacoste-stevenson.com.au
lippmann associates www.lippmann.com.au
Loop Creative www.loopcreative.com.au 
Lend Lease Design www.bovislendlease.com

M
Mackenzie Pronk Architects www.mackenziepronk.com.au
Marchese Partners International www.marchesepartners.com
McConnel Smith & Johnson www.msjgroup.com.au
Metier3 Architects www.metier3.com.au
Miralles Tagliabue EMBT & www.mirallestagliabue.com 
Mirvac Design www.mirvacdesign.com
michael fountain www.mfa.com.au
mac-interactive www.mac-interactive.com 

N
Neylan Architecture www.neylan.com.au
Nobis Architecture www.nobis.com.au
Neeson Murcutt Architects www.neesonmurcutt.com
nordon jago www.nordonjago.com
Noel Bell Ridley Smith http://www.nbrsap.com.au/

P
Peddle Thorp Architects (PTW) www.pta.com.au
Project Architecture www.projectarchitecture.com.au
pmdl www.pmdl.com.au
Alex Popov  www.alexpopov.com.au
Populous http://populous.com/

R
Realize Architecture www.realize.com.au
Richard Cole Architecture www.richardcolearchitecture.com.au
Reid Campbell Group www.reidcampbell.com

S
S2F www.s2f.com.au
Searle Waldron www.searle-waldron.com
Smith Lebbos Architecture
Studio [R] www.studiorinc.com
Super Colossal www.supercolossal.ch
Suters Architects www.sutersarchitects.com.au
SJB Architects  www.sjb.com.au
scott carver www.scottcarver.com.au
Sam Marshall www.marshall.net.au
Frank Stanisic www.stanisic.com.au
Peter Stutchbury www.peterstutchbury.com.au
smart design studio www.smartdesignstudio.com

T
Tanner Architects www.tannerarchitects.com.au
Terroir www.terroir.com.au
Tonkin Zulaikha Greer www.tzg.com.au
Tony Caro Architecture www.tonycaroarchitecture.com.au
Tony Owen Partners www.tonyowen.com.au
Turner & Associates Architects www.turnerassociates.com.au
tank www.tank.com.au
thomson and adsett www.tagroup.com.au
thrum www.thrumarchitects.com.au
Turner + Associates www.turnerassociates.com.au
Tone Wheeler Environa Studio www.environastudio.com.au

W
Watermark Architecture and Interiors – Spowers www.watermarkarchitecture.com.au
WoodsBagot www.woodsbagot.com
Wolff Architecture www.wolff.net.au
woodhead www.woodhead.com.au

4site www.4site-architecture.com

The Sydney School (1950s-70s Mid-Century Modern housing)

Sydney Ancher
Robin Boyd
Neville Gruzman
Peter Johnson
Bryce Mortlock
Peter Muller
Bruce Rickard
Doug Snelling
Ken Willougby 
Ken Woolley

Historic Sydney Architects
B

James Barnet (NSWGA)

Edmund Blacket (Cyril and Arthur Blacket) (NSWGA)
  Cedric Ballantyne
D C.Bruce Dellit
  James Dempsey
F Sir Norman Foster
G

Walter Burley Griffin

Francis Greenway (NSWGA)
H sculptur Rayner Hoff
  Hennessy and Sheerin
  James Hume
  Hilly and Mansfield
J George Sydney Jones
K Kohn Pedersen Fox Associates 
William Kemp
  Henry Kitchen
L Mortimer Lewis (NSWGA)
M Glenn Murcutt
  George McRae (NSWGA)
  Morrow & Gordon
N Bob Nation
P Renzo Piano
R Robertson and Marks
  Thomas Rowe
S Louis Sullivan
  John Sulman
  Emil Sodersten
  Stephenson and Turner
U Joern Utzon
V

Walter Liberty Vernon (NSWGA)

John Verge
W

William Wardell

Leslie Wilkinson
  Henry White
   
  NSW Government Architects
  1816 -1822
GREENWAY, Francis Howard

1822 - 1824
HARRIS, Standish Lawrence

1825 - 1826
COOKNEY, George

1832 - 1835
HALLEN, Ambrose

1835 - 1849
LEWIS, Mortimer

1849 - 1854
BLACKET, Edmund Thomas

1854 - 1856
WEAVER, William

1856 - 1862
DAWSON, Alexander

1862 - 1890
BARNET, James

1890 - 1911
VERNON, Walter Liberty

1912 - 1923
McRAE, George

1923 - 1926
BLAIR, Gorrie McLeish

1927 - 1929
WELLS, Richard McDonald Seymour

1929 - 1935
SMITH, Edwin

1935 - 1958
PARKES, Cobden

1958 - 1973
FARMER, Edward Herbert

1973 - 1974
WEBBER, Geoffrey Phillip

1974 - 1978
WEATHERBURN, Charles Percy

1978 - 1988
THOMSON, John Whyte (Ian)

1988 -1995
KELLY, Lindsay

1995 - 2005
JOHNSON, Chris

2005 - 2012
MOULD, Peter

2012 - present
POULET, Peter
   

Australian firms named in World Architecture top 100
January 18, 2012

Australian firms are named in the 2012 World Architecture Survey, ranking the top 100 global architecture practices.

Some of Australia’s largest and most high-profile architecture practices have been included in a ‘top 100’ global survey of the world’s architecture firms. Practices including HASSELL, Woods Bagot, HBO + EMTB and Cox Architecture were named in the World Architecture 100 (WA 100), a compendium of the world’s biggest practices, compiled by UK-based magazine Building Design.

Woods Bagot was the highest ranked Australian practice by size and the strongest on a global stage – making the top ten regional lists (ranked by regional income) for Australasia, Central Asia, Central and Eastern Europe. However on the regional scale, HASSELL was revealed to be the largest earners in the Australasian region – earning US$94m, almost double that of second-placed Woods Bagot (US$53m).

Top 100 by size

In the table for Top 100 Architects, with rankings determined by the number of architects employed at each firm, Woods Bagot was the highest placed Australian firm – ranked 14th in the world with 581 architects employed and an annual fee income of US$130-139m. HASSELL sits in 30th position on the same table and is the second largest Australian practice, employing 384 architects and earning an annual fee income of US$110-119m.

HBO + EMTB came 38th on the global list and 3rd locally, with 283 architects employed and a fee income of $80-89m, while Cox Architecture sits in 45th position with 232 architects employed and a fee income of $60-69m.

The Buchan Group was a new appearance on the WA 100, ranking fifth in Australia and 75th overall with 135 architects employed. Also included were Suters Architects (ranked 81st, with 119 architects employed and a fee income of $20-29m) and Thomson Adsett Architects (89th, 100 architects employed, fee income of $20-29m).

Regional Rankings

In the Regional Top 10 – ranking practices according to earnings in the region – HASSELL was the number one practice, with a fee income of US$94m. Woods Bagot came second with US$53m, followed by Cox Architecture (US$51m), HBO + EMTB (US$28m) and Suters Architects (US$20m). Non-local practices completing the list of top Australasian earners included Populous, Archetype Group, Foster & Partners, HKS Inc, Leo A Daly and DWP.

Market Sectors

In terms of market sectors, with rankings determined by income per sector, HASSELL was included in the top 10 for Business Parks/Offices, Criminal Justice, Transportation and Urban Design. Meanwhile, Woods Bagot were listed in the top ten for Business Parks/Offices, Cultural, Defence, Hotels, Leisure and Masterplanning.

Compiled annually, the Building Design World Architecture Survey reports on the biggest global architecture firms. All rankings are compiled using data and information supplied by participating practices. The full survey ranks firms by size and income (recording both global and regional earnings), as well as by sector and expertise. For information on the WA 100, visit www.bdonline.co.uk/wa-100